Film | Et Cultura Festival

Feb. 13-17, 2019


Film is storytelling. A chance to discover new people, places and ideas brought to life by the imagination and dedication of the independent film makers in front of and behind the camera. Et Cultura Film is focused on bringing stories that promote diversity, encourage innovation, evoke emotion, and illicit laughter. In the spirit of celebrating “All things Local,” a Sunshine State Film Block will highlight films produced in, created in, or featuring Florida.

EtC StP Film wants to feed the growing global obsession with short films with curated themed blocks designed to take the audience on a journey while creating an inclusive environment where filmmakers and audiences can come together and see what conversations and discussions can be ignited with post film discussions and Q&A sessions.

Look for our “Spotlight Features” each day that will bring exclusive, award winning, thought provoking, independent documentaries to EtC StP Film Festival and provide a chance for community engagement and discussion after each feature documentary presentation.

Film Freeway Submission

Your one-stop shop to be part of Et Cultura film. Begin your submission below.


Best Environmental Documentary
WASTED ! The Story of Food Waste by Anna Chai and Nari Kye

Best Music Documentary
New Wave: Dare To Be Different by Ellen Goldfarb

Best Craft Art Documentary
Strad Style by Stefan Avalos

Best Culinary Art Documentary
42 Grams Film by Jack C. Newell

Best Fine Art Documentary
The Key to Dalí by David Fernández

Best Visual Art Documentary
Brimstone & Glory by Viktor Jakovleski


Best Short Animation
Negative Space by Max Porter, Ru Kuwahata

Best Student Animation
Garden Party – Animated Short Film by Florian Babikian, Vincent Bayoux, Victor Caire, Théophile Dufresne, Gabriel Grapperon, and Lucas Navarro

Best Experimental Animation
In a Nutshell by Fabio Friedli

Best Student Comedy
Fanny Pack by Uttera Singh

Best Student Drama
Red Apples by George Sikharulidze

Best U.S. Comedy
Milk & Cookies by Mike Holt

Best U.S. Drama
DeKalb Elementary by Reed Van Dyk

Best Int’l Comedy
The Whole World by Julián Quintanilla

Best Int’l Drama
What Tears Us Apart by Wei Hu

Best U.S. Satire
Alternative Math by David Maddox

Best Int’l Satire
The Geneva Convention by Benoît Martin

Best Parody
Hot Winter: A Film by Dick Pierre by Jack Henry Robbins

Best Sci-Fi
They Charge for the Sun by Terence Nance

Best Fantasy
Who’s Who in Mycology by Marie Dvorakova

Best Thriller
Gridlock by Ian Hunt Duffy

Best Horror
The Cleansing Hour by Damien LeVeck

Best Horror Comedy
Humbug by Justin Lee, Matt Thiesen

Best Dramedy
Radio 88 by Kim Noonan and John Salcido

Best Mockumentary
Subotika: Land of Wonders by Peter Volkart

Best Documentary
116 Cameras by Davina Pardo

Best Biographical Documentary
Little Potato by Wes Hurley

Best Sociological Documentary
Digilante by Mike Nayna

Best Adventure Documentary
The Hanging by Geoffrey Feinberg

Best Comedy Documentary
Gone Viral by Charlo Johnson

Best Science Documentary
Born of Stone by Emilio Bellu

Best Concept Art Documentary
The Moving Camera Project by Andy Moynehan, Chelsea Moynehan

Best Performance Art Documentary
Gravity is Just a Habit by David Vardanyan, Elena Vardanyan

Best Dance Film
The Archetypes by William Joseph Stribling

Best Mise-en-scène
Who’s Who in Mycology by Marie Dvorakova

Best Short Short
The Perfect Houseguest by Max Porter, Ru Kuwahata

Best Director
Jack Henry Robbins for Hot Winter: A Film by Dick Pierre

Best Ensemble
Hot Winter: A Film by Dick Pierre by Jack Henry Robbins

Best Actor in Comedy
P.J. Marshall in Sure-Fire

Best Actor in Drama
Moe Dunford in Gridlock

Best Actress in Comedy
Loles León in The Whole World

Best Actress in Drama
Nai An in What Tears Us Apart


Outstanding Achievement in Screenwriting
David Maddox and Malcolm Morrison for Alternative Math, Michael Goldburg and Dave Chan for Sure-Fire, and Julián Quintanilla for The Whole World

Outstanding Achievement in Screenwriting for Animation
Britt Raes for Catherine

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography
Narayan Van Maele for Gridlock, Andressa Cor for They Charge for the Sun, and Martin Ziaran for Who’s Who in Mycology

Outstanding Achievement in Editing
Eoin McGuirk for Gridlock, Neil Evans for Radio 88, and Marie Dvorakova for Who’s Who in Mycology

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design
Nikki Moss for Gridlock, Peter Volkart for Subotika: Land of Wonders, and Roman Cadek for Who’s Who in Mycology

Outstanding Achievement in Production Design/Art Direction
Theresa Corvino for The Cleansing Hour, Peter Volkart for Subotika: Land of Wonders, and Marie Dvorakova for Who’s Who in Mycology

Outstanding Achievement in SFX/VFX
Damien LeVeck, Michael Miller, and Vicki Juhasz for The Cleansing Hour, Peter Volkart for Subotika: Land of Wonders, and Boris Masnik and Matej Pospisil for Who’s Who in Mycology